hum 2461

 Fall 2011

Class hours: TH 12:30 – 1:45

Class room: P-263

Professor: Ericka Ghersi

Office: B-032 (Building B—Unit 5)

Office Hours: Call or email for appointment (general hours 8:00 – 12:20)

Email: ericka.ghersi@sfcollege.edu

My home page: http://people.sfcollege.edu/ericka.ghersi/

My course website: https://hum2461.wordpress.com/

Important websites:

Lectures by topic

Helpful quizzes

Study questions

About HUM2461

I am Ericka Ghersi. I did my bachelor’s in mass communications at the Universidad de San Martín de Porres, and film studies at the Universidad de Lima. I also studied archeology at the Universidad de San Marcos. Once I was done with my studies, I worked for two important newspapers: El Peruano and Cambio. In both places, I worked for their respective cultural sections not only writing about literature and film, but also interviewing well-known Latin American writers, and later on designing the cultural page. At that time, Universidad de San Martin de Porres published my first poetry book: Zenobia y el Anciano. However, I felt I needed to do some more, so I decided to study Literature. I went to Ohio (USA) and I got a master’s degree in Spanish Literature at Bowling Green State University. Medieval and Golden Age literature were my favorites. Very excited with the scholar's life in the United States, I got my doctorate in Latin American Literature and Interdisciplinary Studies at the University of Florida. Once at UF, I published my second and third books of poetry: Contra la Ausencia, and Ithaca. I also published my poems in several reviews, magazines, and anthologies in the Americas and Europe, and one can find some of my poems translated in English and Italian as well. I taught at the University of Florida, Stetson University, and now I am teaching at Santa Fe College. I taught Beginner Spanish and Advanced Spanish courses, Spanish I and Spanish II courses, Beginner Portuguese and Latin American Humanities courses. You can reach me at the Department of Humanities and Foreign Languages at Santa Fe College. My office is located in B - 032B. If you want to talk to me, you can e-mail me (ericka.ghersi@sfcollege.edu) or also check my current course schedule.
This entry was posted in Syllabus. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to hum 2461

Leave a comment